Office for Collective Bargaining

About the OCB
Practicing Before OCB
Site Map
Contact Us

Who We Are

The Office of Collective Bargaining ("OCB") is an impartial, tri-partite governmental agency authorized by Article 14 of the New York Civil Service Law ("Taylor Law"). In 1967, the OCB and its constituent Boards were created pursuant to a recommendation of a Tripartite Committee consisting of representatives of municipal unions, the City, and impartial members representing the public. The Tripartite Committee was convened to discuss and develop proposals for improving collective bargaining procedures in New York City. OCB regulates the conduct of labor relations between the City and its employees and administers the New York City Collective Bargaining Law (New York City Administrative Code, Title 12, Chapter 3) ("NYCCBL"). The NYCCBL was enacted in 1967 by the New York City Council in the exercise of the local option set forth in 212 of the Taylor Law. At the same time, the City Council amended the New York City Charter Chapter 54 to create the OCB, the Board of Collective Bargaining ("BCB"), and the Board of Certification ("BOC").

The BCB is a neutral tripartite body, made up of two City representatives appointed by the Mayor of the City of New York, two Labor representatives appointed by the municipal labor unions, and three Impartial members, who are elected by a unanimous vote of the City and Labor members. The BCB determines disputes concerning improper labor practices, arbitrability of grievances, scope of bargaining, and resolution of impasses in collective bargaining. The BOC is made up of the three impartial members from the BCB. The BOC determines appropriate bargaining units, certifies unions as the exclusive bargaining representative of appropriate units, and determines whether particular titles or employees are excluded from bargaining because they are managerial or confidential within the meaning of the NYCCBL.

Copyright  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact Us